Error Free

From the following website.
http://www.catholic.com/tracts/god-has-no-body

Certain groups, notably the Mormons, have committed the error of saying that God the Father has a body, and have thus become anthropomorphites, people who say that God has a human form.
In recent years, this form of doctrinal decay has also set in among certain segments of American Evangelicalism, most notably in the Pentecostal Word Faith movement. Evangelicals such as Finnis Dake, Jimmy Swaggart, Kenneth Copeland, and Benny Hinn have all (temporarily or permanently) bought into the idea that the Father has a body.
Anthropomorphites argue that man is made in the image of God (Gen. 1:26–27) and point to verses that refer to the strong right arm of God, the eyes of God, and so forth.
In doing this, they profoundly misunderstand Scripture. First, the image of God we bear involves our rational soul that separates us from animals (the function that the image plays in Genesis 1 is to separate humans from the animals God has just created). Second, talk in the Bible about God’s strong right arm, his eyes, and such is metaphorical language concerning God’s power and knowledge. This can be seen by the fact that the Bible also speaks of God as having feathers and wings; yet even the anthropomorphites would not go this far (cf. Ps. 91:4—”He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge”).
Anthropomorphites maintain their doctrine in defiance of verses, such as John 4:24, where Jesus teaches us: “God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.” This means God has no body, because a spirit is, by nature, an incorporeal being. As Jesus tells us elsewhere, “a spirit has not flesh and bones” (Luke 24:39).
There is a big difference between being a spirit and having a spirit. Jesus says that the Father is a spirit, not that the Father has a spirit; this means that he lacks a body entirely.

NIHIL OBSTAT: I have concluded that the materials
presented in this work are free of doctrinal or moral errors.
Bernadeane Carr, STL, Censor Librorum, August 10, 2004
IMPRIMATUR: In accord with 1983 CIC 827
permission to publish this work is hereby granted.
+Robert H. Brom, Bishop of San Diego, August 10, 2004

Now, I maybe I feel antagonistic today, I don’t know, it is a full moon after all, and I guess I’ll make that my excuse (like I really need one), for this post. However, I love this kind of stuff. The pot calling the kettle “black.”

“There is a big difference between being a spirit and having a spirit. Jesus says that the Father is a spirit, not that the Father has a spirit; this means that he lacks a body entirely.” (as quoted above).

Now, if a few of you lack the initiative to correct the pope’s view, then I guess I’ll have to do it for you. And since the Catholic church has no problem with taking shots at the Mormons, then they shouldn’t have a problem with me taking shots at them. Yes I know that is Juvenile, but it’s a full moon and I’m taking full advantage of that fact.

“the Father has a spirit; this means that he lacks a body entirely.” Oh really, then what are the seven billion people walking around on Earth right now, chopped liver? Where do you think they come from? Spirit yes, and where does that come from? God, yes!

I have said it before, and I’ll say it again, (in case the pope doesn’t read my blog). Nothing exists outside of God, all things are “of God,” regardless of the form they ultimately show up as. In order to have something external to God, there would have to be an intelligence capable of creating both God and that external reality, which would make “that” the new improved, enhanced version of God.

Now, I am not saying that God doesn’t have a God, what I am saying is that for the purposes of our discussion, there has to be an ultimate creative intelligence responsible for creation,…that is the God I am talking about, and it doesn’t have any competition.

I’ll say this here, although I’m sure it will go over most people’s heads. Trees, animals, plants, rocks, soil, water, air, fire, paper, a Tim’s coffee, with an apple fritter, are all God.
The reason they are, is because they are all created from the “base particle of creation,” which of course is God itself, manifested physically in the smallest possible physical version of reality, before you are right back to spirit.

Now, your average person will ask, “why doesn’t God show up as this, or as that, to prove to me God really exists?” In the meantime God is showing up as “everything” and this guy still doesn’t get it. When God is “everything you can lay your eyes on,” why would he try to convince you of its existence? What would be the point? You are God, and you don’t get that concept, do you really think that you would understand something outside yourself, as being God? Hey, the pope doesn’t get it,…do you really think you would?

The whole idea that God can not be something if it really wanted to, is ridiculous. God manifested a multitude of dimensional universes, yet he couldn’t manifest a physical body if it wanted to,…come on. How does one get to be pope, that’s all I want to know? It has to be genetic, it can’t have anything to do with common sense. Or “humanistic understanding” if you prefer.

No wonder people are bailing on this organization in ever larger numbers. They ought to wise up, and instead of telling people “how it is,” they should tell them what they want to hear, just like the politicians!

Now, I guess I should add my disclaimer that apologizes for offending “whoever.” Okay,…sorry if I hurt your feelings. I’ll go to confession and have that sin expunged. (couldn’t resist that one).

